Calendar | Classifieds | Basin Farmer | Facebook | Contact Us | Subscribe
Othello Outlook | Othello's community news site
Sun Basin

Sun Basin

home : opinion : opinion November 24, 2015

12/31/2012 3:30:00 PM
Changes in the Fourth Congressional District
Doc Hastings
U.S. Congressman

As some of you likely noted when you received your ballots earlier this year, starting in 2013, Congressional districts in Washington state are going to look a little different. The change in Congressional districts is due to a process as old as our country itself. 
The House of Representatives was created to be the "people's House," where the number of representatives are based on population. While our Founding Fathers likely never envisioned a nation spanning from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean with 315 million people, they did have the foresight to create a system within the U.S. Constitution to ensure that Congressional districts remain roughly equal in population as people move from place to place.
Every 10 years, the United States Census Bureau conducts a count of all of the people in the United States and the 435 voting seats within the House of Representatives are then divided up among the 50 states based on population.
After the 2010 Census, this meant Washington state gained a seat, while states like Louisiana and Missouri lost seats. Each state then determines how it wishes to draw the lines separating Congressional districts, as long as the population in each district is approximately the same. Here in Washington state, this is done by a bipartisan commission made up of two Republicans and two Democrats. Feb. 7 of this year, the final redistricting plan that had been adopted by the Washington State Redistricting Commission was signed into law by Gov. Gregoire. The new congressional districts go into effect beginning Jan. 3, 2013.
Within central Washington, Congressman Reichert will now be representing those in Chelan and Kittitas counties, as well as the residents of East Wenatchee. Congresswoman Herrera Beutler will be representing the people of Klickitat and Skamania counties. I have the honor of representing residents of Okanogan County, all of Adams County and a portion of Walla Walla County who were previously represented by Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers.
I look forward to working with the new residents of my district, as well as those in Benton, Douglas, Franklin, Grant and Yakima counties I will continue to represent.
I will very much miss the opportunity to work on behalf of the people from the areas that are no longer part of the Fourth Congressional District. However, I encourage the residents of these areas to learn more about your new representatives and their positions on issues by visiting their websites Jan. 3 at and To those in my district feel free to visit my website at or call at 509-543-9396.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          


Basin FarmerNeighborsCops & CourtsSportsSchoolsCommunity
outdoor | Calendar | Classifieds | Basin Farmer | Facebook | Home | RSS | Contact Us | Subscribe
Site Design and Content
Copyright 2015 1up!

Software © 1998-2015 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved